Personal Consciousness |

Work that Works For Everyone


Personal Consciousness

Personal Consciousness

Leadership Consciousness

   Organizational Consciousness


Seven Levels of Personal ConsciousnessLevel 1: Survival

This level focuses on matters to do with physical survival. It includes values such as financial stability, wealth, safety, self-discipline and health. The potentially limiting aspects of this level are generated from fears around survival. Limiting values include greed, control and caution.

Level 2: Relationships

This level concerns the quality of interpersonal relationships in an individual's life. It includes values such as open communication, family, friendship, conflict resolution and respect.

The potentially limiting aspects of this level result from fears around loss of control or respect. Limiting values include rivalry, intolerance and being liked.

Level 3: Self-Esteem

This level addresses an individual's need for respect and recognition. It includes such values as being the best, ambition, professional growth and determination. The potentially limiting aspects of this level come from low self-esteem and being out of control. Potentially limiting values include status, arrogance and image.

There are no potentially limiting values in levels 4 through 7.

Level 4: Transformation

The focus at this level is on self-actualization and personal growth. It contains values such as courage, responsibility, knowledge and personal development. This is the level where people work to overcome their fears. It requires continuous questioning of beliefs and assumptions. It is also the level where they begin to find balance in their lives.

Level 5: Internal Cohesion

Level 5 concerns the individual's search for meaning and community. Individuals operating at this level no longer think in terms of a job or career, but in terms of a mission. This level contains values such as commitment, creativity, enthusiasm, humor/fun, excellence, generosity and honesty.

Level 6: Making a Difference

Level 6 focuses on making a difference in the world. It is also the level of active involvement in the local community. Individuals operating at this level value intuition and contribution. They may be concerned about the environment or local issues. This level contains values such as counseling, community work, empathy and environmental awareness.

Level 7: Service

Level 7 reflects the highest order of internal and external connectedness. It focuses on service to others and the planet. Individuals operating at this level are at ease with uncertainty. They display wisdom, compassion and forgiveness. They have a global perspective. They are concerned about issues such as social justice, human rights and future generations.

Distribution of Consciousness

Individuals do not operate from any one single level of consciousness. They tend to be clustered around three or four levels. Most individuals tend be focused at levels 1 through 5, usually with a particular emphasis at level 5. Gender, age, ethnic background and nationality can affect the distribution of values.

Cultural Transformation Tools® Barrett Values Centre

ElevateWork Home


Contact ElevateWork

Canada: +1 403 247 8042

Sweden: +46 702 781179

Subscribe to our Newsletters

About ElevateWork

We are an international group of facilitators, trainers and coaches with a shared mission to elevate the world of work in collaboration with other like-minded, like-hearted leaders and organizations.

ElevateWork specializes in facilitating highly effective online meetings, holistic leadership mentoring and cultural change. Open Space Technology, Bohm Dialogue, online Open Space conferences, participative online meeting facilitation,  Cohering Community, and facilitator training are our specialties.

Engage with us!

Follow ElevateWork on Facebook Engage with ElevateWork on LinkedIn Engage with ElevateWork on Twitter

Copyright © 2024 ElevateWork All Rights Reserved